Current Presidents

The Society operates a tripartite presidential system with three Presidents serving at any one time for a three-year term, as President-elect, President and Immediate Past President.

Prof Lord Nicholas Stern


Lord Stern is a professor at the LSE. He was previously the Chief Economist of EBRD between 1994-1999 and of the World Bank from 2000-2003. He was President of the British Academy from 2013-2017, knighted for his services to economics in 2004, elected an FRS in 2013 and made a Companion of Honour in 2017.

Prof Peter Neary

Immediate Past President

Peter Neary is a professor of economics at the University of Oxford and a Research Fellow of the Centre for Economic Policy Research. He was President of the Royal Economic Society in 2017-18. Peter also held the position of President at the European Economic Association in 2002 and President of the International Economics and Finance Society in 1999-2000.

Prof Rachel Griffith


Rachel is Professor of Economics at the University of Manchester and a Research Director of the Institute for Fiscal Studies (IFS). She was awarded a CBE in the Queen's Birthday Honours 2015 for services to economic policy. She is a Fellow of the Econometric Society, the British Academy, the Academy of Social Sciences and a Research Fellow of CEPR.