Life Vice Presidents

Sir Charles Bean

Charles is a professor of economics at LSE and a member of the Budget Responsibility Committee at OBR. He previously served as Chief Economist (2000-8) and Deputy Governor (2008-14) at the Bank of England. He was President of the RES from 2013 to 2015 and was knighted for services to monetary policy in 2014.

Prof John Beath

John is Emeritus Professor of Economics at the University of St Andrews and a Council member of the ESRC. A fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh, the Royal Society of Arts and the Academy of Social Sciences, he was appointed OBE in the 2015 Birthday Honours List. He served as RES Secretary-General between 2008 and 2015.

Sir Richard Blundell

Richard is a professor of political economy at UCL and the director of the ESRC Centre for the Microeconomic Analysis of Public Policy (CPP) at the IFS.

Lord Terence Burns

Lord Burns is Chairman of Ofcom; Senior Adviser to Banco Santander and a member of the House of Lords Economic Affairs Select Committee. Previous appointments include Permanent Secretary to Treasury from 1991-1998; Chairman of Santander UK plc, Welsh Water, The Royal Academy of Music, Channel 4 and Marks & Spencer. He was also a non-executive member of the Office for Budget Responsibility

Sir Partha Dasgupta

Sir Partha Dasgupta is the Frank Ramsey Professor Emeritus of Economics at the University of Cambridge, Fellow of both the British Academy and the Royal Society, Member of the Pontifical Academy of Social Sciences, Foreign Associate of the US National Academy of Science, and recipient of the Volvo Prize, the Blue Planet Prize, and the Tyler Prize.

Sir David Hendry

David is a senior research fellow at Nuffield College, Oxford and a co-director of Climate Econometrics and of Economic Modelling in the Institute for New Economic Thinking at the Oxford Martin School.

Prof John Moore

John is David Hume University Professor at the University of Edinburgh, and School Professor at the London School of Economics. He is a Fellow of the British Academy, and a Foreign Honorary Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and of the American Economic Association. He has served as President of the Econometric Society.

Sir Stephen Nickell

Stephen is an honorary fellow of Nuffield College, Oxford and a former member of the Bank of England Monetary Policy Committee.

Prof Richard Portes

Richard is a professor of economics at London Business School and the founder and honorary president of the Centre for Economic Policy Research (CEPR). He is a Fellow of the Econometric Society and the British Academy and Honorary Fellow of Balliol College Oxford. His research areas are international macroeconomics and finance and financial regulation. He was decorated CBE in 2003.

Penelope Rowlatt

Penelope Rowlatt worked in HM Treasury and the Department of Energy before becoming a Director first of National Economic Research Associates and then of Europe Economics. She was a member of the RPI Advisory Committee, the Royal Commission for Environmental Pollution, the Better Regulation Commission and the Restrictive Practices Court.

Prof John Sutton

John is the Sir John Hicks Professor Emeritus of Economics at LSE, and is a Fellow of the British Academy. He served as President of the RES from 2004 to 2007.

Sir John Vickers

John is a professor of economics at the University of Oxford and the Warden of All Souls College.