Nominations Committee

The committee is responsible for a) reviewing the list of nominations for President and making a recommendation to Council and b) reviewing nominations for Council elections and making recommendations on those candidates who should forward to a ballot of the membership.  


Prof Lord Nicholas Stern


Lord Stern is a professor at the LSE. He was previously the Chief Economist of EBRD between 1994-1999 and of the World Bank from 2000-2003. He was President of the British Academy from 2013-2017, knighted for his services to economics in 2004, elected an FRS in 2013 and made a Companion of Honour in 2017.

Prof Rachel Griffith


Rachel is Professor of Economics at the University of Manchester and a Research Director of the Institute for Fiscal Studies (IFS). She was awarded a CBE in the Queen's Birthday Honours 2015 for services to economic policy. She is a Fellow of the Econometric Society, the British Academy, the Academy of Social Sciences and a Research Fellow of CEPR.

Prof Denise Osborn


Now Emeritus, Denise was employed at the University of Manchester for 38 years, 23 as professor, publishing more than 80 papers and one book, many with international collaborators. External roles include Sub-Panel Chair UK RAE2008, Deputy Panel Convenor Hong Kong RAE2014 and service for the Royal Economic Society, Economic and Social Research Council and Leverhulme Trust, among others.

Hasan Bakhshi

Council member (until 2022)

Hasan is Executive Director for Creative Economy and Data Analytics at Nesta and Adjunct Professor of Creative Industries at the Queensland University of Technology.

Prof Amelia Fletcher

Council member (until 2021)

Amelia is professor of Competition Policy at the Centre of Competition Policy, University of East Anglia. She is Non-Executive Director at the CMA, FCA and Payment Systems Regulator and a member of the Ofgem Enforcement Decision Panel. She has a DPhil and MPhil in economics from Nuffield College, Oxford and was awarded an OBE in 2014.

Prof Friederike Mengel

Council member (until 2022)

Friederike is a professor of economics at the University of Essex and a visiting guest professor at Lund University.

Prof Martin Weale

Council member (until 2020)

Martin Weale is Professor of Economics at King’s College London and a member of the Office for National Statistics Economic Experts Working Group. Before joining King’s in 2016 he was a member of the Bank of England’s Monetary Policy Committee and, until 2010, Director of the National Institute of Economic and Social Research.

Prof Tim Worrall

Council member (until 2021)

Tim is Professor of Economics at the University of Edinburgh. He has held previous appointments at Manchester, Keele, Liverpool, Reading and Cambridge. Tim was Secretary to the Conference of Heads of University Departments of Economics (CHUDE), a sub-committee of the Royal Economic Society, 2007-2012.