Remuneration Committee

The remit of this committee is to develop and review the Society’s remuneration policy, and to recommend remuneration levels to the Executive Committee for staff, journal editors, and appropriate other individuals. 

Sue Holloway

Honorary Treasurer

Sue is now retired. She worked in the Government Economic Service for 13 years – at the Office for National Statistics, managing the GES and as Deputy Chief Economist at the Department for International Development. Following that she ran two charities - Pro Bono Economics and latterly Project Oracle.

Prof Lord Nicholas Stern


Lord Stern is a professor at the LSE. He was previously the Chief Economist of EBRD between 1994-1999 and of the World Bank from 2000-2003. He was President of the British Academy from 2013-2017, knighted for his services to economics in 2004, elected an FRS in 2013 and made a Companion of Honour in 2017.

Prof Peter Neary

Immediate Past President

Peter Neary is a professor of economics at the University of Oxford and a Research Fellow of the Centre for Economic Policy Research. He was President of the Royal Economic Society in 2017-18. Peter also held the position of President at the European Economic Association in 2002 and President of the International Economics and Finance Society in 1999-2000.

Prof Stephen Machin

Council representative (until 2019)

Stephen is a Professor of Economics and Director of the Centre for Economic Performance (CEP) at the London School of Economics,

Leighton Chipperfield

Chief Executive |

Leighton joined the RES as Chief Executive in 2017. Prior to joining the Society, Leighton held directorial roles at a large academic publisher and at the Microbiology Society. A social scientist by background, he has a postgraduate diploma in Voluntary Sector Management from Cass Business School and a diploma in Charity Management from the Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators.